Head office | 01772 653 000

Fylde coast office | 01253 347 063

In principles agreed with the Department for Transport and aligned with other UK Train Operating Companies from Tuesday 24 March Northern is launching an emergency temporary timetable. This represents significant change from the normal daily timetable, with a specific focus to deliver an effective public transport service for key workers. Reducing the number of trains in service also creates opportunities for additional cleaning activities on trains and in depots, and allows more targeted cleaning at stations.

Information is now available to be viewed on and via PDF copies which are located here:


The indicative service pattern by corridor is shown in the table below:


Service Frequency
West and Central
Barrow – Manchester Airport Two Hourly
Windermere – Manchester Airport Two Hourly
Carlisle – Workington Hourly
Barrow – Whitehaven 2 hourly
Blackpool – Hazel Grove Hourly
Preston – Victoria Hourly
Liverpool – Oxford Road via Warrington Half Hourly
Blackpool South – Colne Two Hourly
Liverpool – Crewe via Newton-le-Willows & Manchester Airport Hourly
Southport – Stalybridge via Bolton Hourly
Stoke – Piccadilly Hourly
Clitheroe – Rochdale Hourly
Wigan – Leeds via Atherton and Dewsbury Hourly
Victoria – Leeds via Bradford Hourly
Piccadilly – Chester via Altrincham Two Hourly
Piccadilly – Buxton Hourly
Piccadilly – Sheffield via New Mills Hourly
Piccadilly – Hadfield Hourly
Piccadilly – Rose Hill Hourly
Liverpool – Wigan Hourly
Victoria – Blackburn via Todmorden Three Hourly
Preston – Leeds Two Hourly
Piccadilly – Stockport – Crewe Hourly
Preston – Ormskirk Limited Bus Replacement
Wigan – Kirkby Limited Bus Replacement
Lancaster – Morecambe Limited Bus Replacement
Chester/Ellesmere Port – Warrington BQ – Earlestown No service – Use alternative TfW service
Leeds Skipton Hourly
Leeds-Ilkley Hourly
Leeds-Bradford FS Half Hourly
Bradford FS-Ilkley Half Hourly
Bradford FS-Skipton Half Hourly
Leeds-Carlisle Two Hourly
Leeds-Harrogate-York Hourly
Huddersfield via Halifax & Brighouse Hourly
Leeds-Doncaster Hourly
Leeds-Sheffield via Moorthorpe Hourly
Sheffield – Lincoln Two Hourly
Leeds-Sheffield via Barnsley Hourly
Leeds-Knottingley – Goole via Glasshoughton Hourly
Leeds-Knottingley via Wakefield Hourly
Leeds – Selby Hourly
Leeds-York via Garforth Hourly
York – Hull Hourly
Sheffield – Doncaster Hourly
Sheffield – Huddersfield Two every three hours
Sheffield – Hull – Scarborough Two Hourly
Scunthorpe – Doncaster Two every three hours
Barton-on-Humber Cleethorpes No service
North East
Morpeth – Carlisle Peak hourly, then two hourly
Whitby – Middlesbrough Limited service
Middlesbrough / Newcastle Peak hourly, then two hourly
Bishop Auckland – Saltburn 1 hourly
Chathill – Morpeth No service


The timetable will be in place until further notice and is the result of a tremendous amount of work by our timetable planning team who have worked incredibly hard to put this together over the weekend and early part of this week.

Share Follow NWL Chamber on Facebook Twitter Share Follow NWL Chamber on LinkedIn Back to News channel

Latest Articles

Live Chat


Active Lancashire Logo blackpool and the fylde college bhm logo code galaxy fi real estate management fox group james brearley logo merlin ryan logo Sustainable Energy First Logo team leyland logo